Clearly, I am very open about the fact that I am having a gastric bypass. Others may not be as open about what kind of surgery they are having, opting to tell others they are having major abdominal surgery but not specifying what kind. I’ve noticed several types of reactions when I tell anyone what kind of surgery I am going to have, a lot are supportive.

But some are a little too informative, even if they are well intentioned. It’s much like when I was pregnant with my son and got a lot of well meaning advice about parenting. The same can be said for having a gastric bypass. Everyone has a friend or relative that has had it done and in comes the slew of advice on how best to behave/eat after the surgery for optimum results, or what not to eat/do.

I’ve adopted a kind of “smile and nod” style of reaction to it so far. For example my dietitian has told me that I am not allowed to have caffeine after surgery. I’ve given it up entirely already prior to surgery so that way I am not going through withdrawals as well as all the other physiological changes post-op. But I had someone tell me that caffeine is a case-by-case issue. Thus, I smile and nod and then do what my dietitian tells me.

That is key, I can listen to the advice and take it into consideration, but if at any point it contradicts what my surgeon or dietitian has told me, then it’s not advice I am going to follow. Because really the people to know what is best for me right now, are the people I am putting my trust in to cut me open, rearrange my insides, and nourish me after. Not literally nourish me.. I’m going to be feeding myself, just with directions.

But I keep in mind that these people who give advice really do have good intentions, and I try to remain patient with them, even when some of them argue with me about something I’ve learned directly from my dietitian.

Count: 17 days to go.

