Tags

Those of you who know me, know that I am a Pinterest junky. When I had my first Dietitian appointment about seven months ago I banished food from my Pinterest. I unfollowed all boards that had food. I deleted all of my food boards and all of the alcohol pins I had. I wanted a clean break from the foods I would have eaten before, to the foods I am going to be able to eat now. I also wanted to avoid temptation and “Last Supper Syndrome.” Which apparently is a problem among patients about to undergo a gastric bypass. I myself fell victim to it for a little while, with the mindset of “I won’t be able to have this after surgery, I want to have it one last time.”

For the record my last solid meal before going on the clear liquid diet was Macaroni-N-cheese. Not even the homemade from scratch kind but the blue box special variety with the orange powder. My son loves the stuff, but I will admit that as a “last meal” it was a bit lacking in the “big sendoff” department. But it is what it is.

Today I started looking at food on Pinterest again. Starting a board of Gastric Bypass Friendly recipes to give me a bit of a jump start on what I can make. I have decided that since I will not be able to eat much, I want every bite to count, I want it to be full of what I need and to be tasty. My new little pouch is going to be too tiny to be wasting space on bland stuff. Though I do strongly suspect that the Spinach Quiche with a Sweet Potato Crust is going to last me a week, since I’ll likely be the only one in the house eating it.

I also took a look at some before and after photographs of gastric bypass patients. I needed the reminder, the extra oomph because with only two days to go I am starting to get a bit anxious about it. I needed to remember why I am putting myself through this.

Two days to go. Ten pounds down in twelve days.

