It is the day before my surgery. The first part of today seemed to drag on and on, but now it just seems to be picking up speed. I have to go to sleep in roughly three hours in order to get enough sleep for tomorrow morning. I have to be at the hospital at 0600 so I will be waking up at 0300 to take a shower before I have to leave. Right now I am drying my laundry so I can finish packing my bag for the hospital. A task helped along by some of my friends. They put together a survival kit for me, completely with travel sized shampoo and conditioner, some word puzzles and comfortable socks and much more. I can’t express how much I appreciate it.

I still have to shave my legs and take a shower before bed. My sheets are clean for bedtime and I’ll take another shower in the morning with the Hibiclens. All to keep my risk of infection do a minimum. I am not even sure I’ll be able to sleep tonight. But maybe I will surprise myself.

How am I feeling? It’s hard to describe really. It reminds me of when I would go on a roller coaster as a kid. Going up that first incline after getting on the ride after waiting in line for what seemed like forever. Studying the ride from the ground, so there’s a good idea of all the twists and turns but not really knowing how it is going to feel to experience it. That anticipation of reaching the top of the ride, I can almost hear the click-click-click. There’s no telling if at the end of it all I’m never going to want to ride it again and say it wasn’t worth the wait, or if I’ll consider the sore feet from waiting so long to be worth it.

I am going to have photos taken of me from all angles tomorrow morning. But for now, photos from my heaviest size, and my wonderful survival kit. I’ve lost twenty-two pounds since these photos were taken.

Survival Kit Front at 294 Side at 294

