I am back home from the hospital. There were a couple of moments when I would have to struggle to get out of the hospital bed where I would ask myself “why did I do this to myself?” I am sure it will all be worth it in the end. I did have a bit of an issue with dehydration. After they took my catheter out at around 9am yesterday, I didn’t actually go pee until 7pm. Otherwise it’s just a matter of staying on top of drinking my little one ounce medicine cups of water or propel every fifteen minutes.

The contrast dye for the swallow test to xray to make sure there are no leaks, is the most disgusting tasting thing I have ever had the displeasure of putting my mouth. It’s gross. Mere words fail to describe the wretchedness of it.

I’ve been pushing myself to walk. At least as much as I can. Right now though I am going to go find my bed so I can sleep and hopefully that will help me heal faster.

Oh and my dog is displeased, the cat has been mindful when jumping into my lap to cuddle. The dog, however, has sniff-inspected every incision point as if cataloging every hurtful thing that happened out of her line of sight. It’s funny.

