I am sure I may post again later, but I thought I would go ahead and write up a post now while my reaction to this is still fresh.

I cannot have Skippy Peanut Butter!

I know it sounds like such a trivial thing out of all the other things I should be focused on and feel good about. I know they tell us when we’re all preparing for surgery that it is a life changing and lifelong event. It is not a one-and-done kind of a thing, sacrifices must be made.

But Skippy?

I’m having like this weird emotional reaction to this. My entire childhood it was Skippy peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, even into adulthood. My kid eats Skippy peanut butter and jelly sandwiches! But when reading the label today when making my son his lunch, sugar is the second ingredient…

I have a list that my dietitian gave me that tells me to avoid foods if these items are within the first three ingredients, and yes that list of items includes sugar. So, it’s the second ingredient on Skippy Peanut Butter so I can’t have it anymore. Even after I get to the solid food stage of being able to eat. I am going to have to switch to some other brand, like Jiff or.. God forbid Peter Pan.

More than likely I’ll just go without peanut butter entirely or get some gourmet organic stuff for whenever I need it in a recipe.

