Tags

, , , ,

When I was on Weight Watchers and eventually stopped following it roughly this time last year, I had experienced a six month long stall on weight loss. I kept losing and regaining the same five pounds over and over again for six months. I wrote a saying on one of my dry erase boards, and I don’t even know where it came from.

Celebrate Achievements; Not Failures.

I still need to learn how to do this. I am currently on Plenty of Fish and OKCupid and attempting this whole online dating thing. I haven’t been intimate with someone in eight years. I’m only thirty-four years old. I showed a friend of mine my self-summary that I had typed up on a word document, and she pointed something out to me that I hadn’t even been conscious of doing. I had made it a grocery list of my flaws or reasons why a man would choose not to date me. It was all this rather angry sounding version of “this is all the bad stuff about me and if you don’t like it well then stuff yourself.” So, that needed to be rewritten, for sure.

I’m not saying that suddenly I have all these guys messaging me. But what’s more important is how I view myself. I need to learn how to celebrate my achievements. I need to learn how to focus on the positives of me rather than all the negatives. I need to learn to see past my failures, or at least learn from them and turn them into achievements.

Speaking of failures, or at least a potential for failure that I’ve noticed on Pinterest that I feel I should be leery of. I searched under “Gastric Bypass Recipes” on there and “Bariatric Recipes” and I am seeing all these substitutions for pizza and low carb ways to make bread. I can’t help but think that it’s a bit of a trap to get pulled into eating the same kinds of things that I ate before. True, using a paleo wrap may be “less unhealthy” than the alternative, but a burrito is still a burrito even if it’s wrapped up in something using coconut flour rather than wheat. Bottom line, some of these recipes make me wonder if they aren’t just a pretty way to eat around my surgery.

Also, I want to say Thank you to this Blogger! I’ve been looking at a FitBit for me to try to get myself to be more active and monitoring my sleeping and eating in a more streamlined fashion. I found this to be extremely helpful in making that decision. So, I am linking to that blog so that others can be helped by it if they are thinking about an activity tracker themselves.

Is It Healthful: DOES THE BIT KEEP YOU FIT? THE TRUTH BEHIND ACTIVITY TRACKERS.

