Tags

, , , , , ,

It has been roughly two weeks since I have really been able to sit down and truly type out a post. I must say that I’ve missed it more than a little bit. It’s cathartic to sit down and write out about how my day has gone and how things are going for me after my surgery.

Things have been going marginally well in the exercise department. I say that because while I now have a treadmill thanks to a dear friend of mine, I slacked off on using it while catching up on reading while my internet was gone. It’s always been a downfall of mine. Once I have a book in hand I tend to let other aspects of my life slip. I’m going to try to be better about that.

Food wise, I need to share a recipe tonight. It is, hands down, the best thing I’ve had to eat since just before my surgery. I got it off of Pinterest but it leads to this website: http://whatscookinglove.com/2012/09/chicken-parmesan-meatloaf/

I did make some minor modifications to this to make it more lean and gastric bypass friendly.

Chicken Parmesan Meatloaf

  • 1 pound ground chicken
  • 3 Tbs Egg White Substitute
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
    1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
    2-3 cloves garlic, minced
    1/2 cup reduced fat parmesan cheese
    1/2 cup marinara sauce
    1/2 cup shredded reduced fat mozzarella cheese
  1.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2.  In a large bowl combine the ground chicken, egg, breadcrumbs, Italian seasoning, garlic, and parmesan cheese.  Mix the mixture with your hands.  Place into a greased loaf pan and form the chicken mixture into a loaf shape.  Top the meatloaf with the marinara sauce.
  3.   Bake for 50-55 minutes or until chicken is cooked.  When done remove and remove and add the mozzarella cheese on top.  Return the meatloaf to the oven until the cheese is melted.  Remove from the oven and let the meatloaf rest for 5-10 minutes before serving.
Mixing the Meat in a bowl

Mixing the Meat in a bowl

Once all mixed, put in loaf pan

Once all mixed, put in loaf pan

Top with Epic Marinara Sauce

Top with Epic Marinara Sauce

Finished Meatloaf

Finished Meatloaf

Put on Plate, careful to watch portions

Put on Plate, careful to watch portions

Basically I just substituted the egg with egg white substitute, and I made sure the cheeses were reduced fat. I absolutely loved the Marinara sauce I ended up purchasing. It smelled so good right out of the jar that I wanted to find a spoon and eat it by itself.

It is also the first Pin in my new Pinterest Board that I’ve titled Pouch Approved.

Pinterest – Pouch Approved

It’s just going to be a board of recipes that I’ve found that I had put on my Gastric Bypass Friendly board but I have actually tried and they didn’t upset my pouch. Because that has happened to a lot of people with a gastric bypass that I’ve talked to, dietitian or doctor will tell me what I can have, or rather should be able to have, and the pouch disagrees. When the pouch disagrees it puts up a really strong argument!

In other news, I have a few profiles on different online dating sites and I have had them for a while now but I never really felt comfortable taking that next step and meeting someone off of there. I had in the past, but when I ballooned up to 294 I just absolutely didn’t want to go out in public if I could help it. I did it and he seems like a wonderful man. So, fingers crossed and that’s all I’m saying so I don’t jinx things. But I will say that I am glad I met him now while I’m still a “fat girl” rather than when I get down to my goal size. I am not sure if I am alone in this feeling but I always thought maybe if I got down in size I’d resent guys for noticing me then, when they hadn’t before.

That’s all I got for now!

