Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams

 – Eleanor Roosevelt

Today marks three months since my surgery. I, of course, had my three month follow up with my surgeon today which went pretty well. He wants me to cut back on my antacids and wean myself off of them. Apparently there’s been some sort of study where they actually slow down the rate of weight loss after surgery. So, I am down for cutting those out of my life as soon as I can manage it.

There is no denying that I am healthier now than I was. Whenever I would go to the doctor previously my blood pressure would be 145/93 and my heart rate would be in the 90s. Today my blood pressure was 110/75 and I had a heart rate of 73. Glad to see those numbers drop along with the weight.

But there are some things that haven’t really changed. It’s nothing on the surface or that can be pointed out on a chart. When I look in the mirror I see the same person. It’s why I take the full length photos. I still see the two hundred ninety-four pound me when I get dressed or when I’m out in public. It’s going to take me a while, I think, to see something different when I look in the mirror.

I’m having to adjust to some things I don’t think that I fully considered before my surgery either. Before my surgery I felt odd and out of place because of my weight when going out to eat. Now, I am odd and out of place because a good 90% of whatever is on the menu at places I can afford, is going to be something that I cannot eat so I spend a good twenty plus minutes looking it all over before I can make my selection with confidence. It’s just something I need to learn to accept.

I decided not to take part in the blacklight run that I posted about previously. I am sure that it would be fun, but I think for my first running adventure I want to pick something that has some significance to me personally. So, with that in mind, I am going to be signing up for either a 1k or a 5k run that takes place on Thanksgiving. A holiday full of foods that I really shouldn’t be eating and seems to focus on the dinner table. I’m hoping to find one nearby where the proceeds are donated to a local charity.

Speaking of food, I noticed a shift in the food pins on Pinterest. It seems after July 4th things move from healthy and trimming towards the cake and rich side of things. It will be slim pickings for my Gastric Bypass Friendly board between now and January when everyone will be going on diets again. I’m sure I’ll survive. Until then I am going to focus more on the womens clothes and pinning about those to give myself some more motivation to get up and do my exercise.

  • Heaviest weight: 294
  • Weight at Surgery: 271.5
  • Current weight: 226
  • Total Lost: 68
