Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve been thinking it over and I decided that I need to be a bit more in depth with this blog. Not only that but more consistent with how often I post. I just feel that I am not only letting myself down but also all of you, my followers.

To that end I’ve added to my list of New Year’s Resolutions that I will post at least every other day. I would have said every day but I fear I am not all that interesting; at least in my mind. Actually in my mind I’m extremely interesting; it’s in practice where things become vanilla.

Perhaps I should add “be more exciting” to the list. Though I think one of the resolutions may cover that already. Oh well, it’s worth mentioning twice perhaps.

I had “get a job” on a previous list but I managed that one already. Actually I’m writing this blog post at work in a notebook using a pen and actual paper. I’ll copy it over tonight when I get home.

My work is as a Customer Service Representative, a fancy term for a clerk at a gas station. I won’t say what company as I don’t really like the idea of getting into trouble.

I hate how intrusive companies are now in the lives of their employees. That any post on social media could get someone in trouble annoys me a great deal; the same with the school system these days. In my opinion if a person is not on-the-clock or on company property I really don’t think they should be punished for what they say or do by their employer. I’m sorry but I don’t think “employer” should be synonymous with “owner”.

Anyway I normally wouldn’t even have the time or inclination to write all this at work except I am what is called “the kiosk” today. The kiosk is a box that is half bullet proof glass in a nine-pump cluster of fuel pumps. It takes me exactly five steps to cross from one side of the box to the other, I should know, I counted. Most of the customers pay at the pump with a card and when I have to handle a customer it’s through a sliding drawer and a speaker system that I can barely hear even with it turned up to maximum volume. I’ve had about one customer per hour for the past seven hours of a ten hour shift and I already read an entire Soap Opera Digest from cover to cover.

I want to make it clear that I have a decent job. My co-workers are good people and I do like my boss quite a bit. However, on the chance of sounding like I am complaining, or worse, a snob; this is not where I pictured myself at the age of thirty-four. I have an Associate degree in Marketing. I had an accumulative GPA of 3.374 for over 87 college credit hours and I was on the Deans list.

I don’t hate my job; I dislike where I am in life. I feel like I should be somewhere “more” I don’t know if I should push to get to where I could be content or be content with where I am. Which would make me happier? Maybe just “find a way to be content.” Whether that is moving forward or finding some inner happy place.

Of course, what list of New Year’s Resolutions would be complete without some about exercising and weight loss. I have those there too.

I haven’t been very good lately about measuring portions or having my protein shakes. I even started allowing myself a handful of potato chips every now and then. I’ve just been rotten and fell off the wagon rather hard.

So, one of my resolutions is to stop cheating myself by cheating on the bariatric diet.

I also would like very much to reach my goal of 145 pounds and be a size 10, though I would be happy with a size 12 also.

As for dating, I am still at a loss on that one. I would like a relationship but it has been so long I am not sure I know how to be in one. So we’ll see what happens in the New Year.

My New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Waste less of my life reading about fictional happily-ever-afters and seek my own.
  2. Spend less time on virtual reality and more time improving my actual reality.
  3. Get back on plan as far as my bariatric diet. Stop cheating myself.
  4. Walk on my days off and eventually on days I am working.
  5. Be more socially active.
  6. Reach 145 pounds.
  7. Get to a size 10 maybe 12.
  8. Spend at least 30 minutes every day writing in my journal.
  9. Post at least every other day on my blog.
  10. Find a way to be content.
